Home » Cooking » A really nice weekend

A really nice weekend

I’ve been staying at my Mum’s house this weekend, looking after her 10 month old spangold puppy Lucy, while she’s off having a great time with her friend in Rome. (I’m not jealous, much!) Mollie is here with me, so we’ve been sharing puppy sitting duties. A spangold is a cross between a springer spaniel and a golden retriever, and at 10 months Lucy is the same height as Mollie, though of a slighter build. She has also inherited all of the enthusiasm and energy of her parents’ breeds; she is very loving, but also quite naughty and is much more inclined to have a woof at stray birds/ cats/ neighbours. Living, as I do, with a dog who always surprises herself when she barks, this is quite a change and Lucy tends to need supervising when she’s in the garden, particularly if she’s in a woofy mood.

I abandoned the dogs for a couple of hours on Friday evening and went to a little get together at my local yarn store. I had been invited previously and hadn’t been able to go, so it was really nice to see what other people are making and just have a chat about knitting and crochet, and to squish some nice yarn! I had a lovely time.

So, Saturday I was supposed to be out all day working on my friends’ election campaign for their County Council divisions. It started out quite nice in Somerset, but by 11am is was absolutely chucking it down and by lunchtime everyone was soaking and a decision was made to cancel the day. Apart from this commitment, I knew that my entire weekend would be looking after Lucy and feeding and watering my sister who was abandoning her family to her husband and ensconsing herself in Mum’s dining room to finish her last essay of the year on her degree course. Saturday afternoon passed in a pleasant blur of listening to my audio book, continuing with my crochet blanket for my Mum and making the occasional cup of tea for my sister.

I had arranged for two different dog walkers to take Mollie and Lucy out over the weekend; not just sheer laziness on my part, but because Mum, the husband and I are off to my stepson’s wedding in ten days time and the dogs need to be looked after for three days; we’ve someone coming in to stay with them overnight, but they need to be taken for a walk. The paid-for walks were to introduce them to the women who will be looking after them. Clearly neither of them do separation anxiety or are in the slightest disclined to go off with strangers as they both trotted off as happy as can be without a backwards look.

Saturday evening my friends Sam and Josh popped round for dinner and to watch The Voice – the husband came too – and I made a butternut squash and chickpea tagine. It was really lovely – you can get all sorts of similar receipes from the BBC Food website – I would definitely recommend the combination. After the husband had gone to work, taking my sister home, the three of us settled down for a cosy chat about yarn. Sam has a copy of the new Debbie Bliss homewares crochet book – which I had a good squizz at – it is divine!

Here’s Lucy giving Josh some love!
image

And Sunday, ah Sunday – a delicious mix of sitting in the conservatory, crochet, sunshine and talking crochet and knitted cushions with my sister (while she was on a break from her essay). The only bit that involved any sort of work was reading her essay and making some leek and potato soup. Because I was feeling lazy I left the skin on the potato – it changed the flavour, but not in a bad way…

And this is the ongoing blanket.
image

One thought on “A really nice weekend

  1. I just nominated you for the Leibster Award – I really enjoy reading your blog and think other people will too! Check out my latest post for more information.

    Like

Leave a Reply

