Home » Cooking » We’re back

We’re back

The last two weeks have been slightly crazy. I work in politics & am elected in local government: I’m not going to talk about my party or personal politics because that’s not what my blog is about, but I mention it for explanation. Election times are odd because you become utterly focused on the first Thursday in May and nothing else happens in your life because you’re so busy. I wasn’t up for election (not up til 2015) but two friends of mine were. I’ve been an election agent and worked strategically on election campaigns, but this time I was able to really focus on the campaigns of my friends. Both Sam and Josh (for those are their names) are also keen knitters and Sam is also great at crochet. Outside of elections, when not regaling each other with the latest bit of scurrilous gossip about our opposition (and sometimes our colleagues!) we tend to talk all things yarn. Then there’s the Sunday afternoon knitty get togethers!

But this is election time and I haven’t touched any knitting or crochet for two weeks. I haven’t had time to miss it; pretty much the only creative thing I’ve done is make dinner each evening (It seemed only fair to feed the troops after I’d made them deliver or canvass for 12 hours!). I have to say that the pasta sauce I made on Wednesday evening was blinding. I was really proud of it, so I’ve put the recipe here:

Claire’s Slightly Spicy Homemade Pasta Sauce

You need a big pan!

2 red onions, chopped into large chunks
4 cloves of garlic, crushed, peeled & roughly chopped
2 tins/ packets chopped tomatoes (800g)
2 jars/ packets Italian passatta (900g)
1 pint of stock (I use Knorr veggie stock pots)
1 small tin of tomato purée
5 tablespoons vegetable oil
1 heaped tablespoon dried oregano
1 teaspoon dried basil
2 teaspoons dried mixed herbs
1 teaspoon cayenne pepper
2 teaspoons paprika
A good squirt of Tabasco
Salt & pepper

Fry the onions in the oil until softened. Add the garlic & fry for another minute. Make the stock & mix the tomato puree into the hot mixture to loosen it. Add all the other ingredients & heat on high until its bubbling. Turn down & simmer with a lid on for a least an hour. Stir occasionally. Blend the sauce to mix in the onions & garlic. It should now be thick & unctuous… Perfect over pasta. If you reduce it further it makes a great sauce for a homemade pizza.

So, back to my reason for my absence… we all worked hard and in the end Sam won his seat and Josh came within 200 votes of winning his, in a much harder to win seat. Having had five hours sleep Wednesday into Thursday and got to bed at 5am on Friday morning, yesterday I wasn’t much use but this morning I feel much better. Looking forward to three days off now! And of course, getting back to my knitting.

7 thoughts on “We’re back

  1. Ooooh. I sooooooo want to know which party, where you are etc but I respect your wish for this to be a non-political blog. We weren’t voting this time either – guess it’s 2015 for us as well (although I did check we weren’t supposed to be voting this time, as I always vote and hated the notion my voting card might have gone astray etc etc). I can never remember when we last voted, I just go by the arrival of the card 🙂

    Have missed your entries. I even though WP had messed up Reader again and I wasn’t getting your posts and popped in to your blog to check you hadn’t posted something I missed but they hadn’t (sorry WP) and I hadn’t.

    Glad to see you back.

    Like

    • I don’t mind people knowing really: I suppose I don’t want to be defined in this community or by chance readers by that side of my life! I’m in Somerset and we wear yellow rosettes 🙂

      Like

      • Lol, well I’m colourless, at the moment – one of the ‘floating’ voters. used to vote for the local MP not because of his party but because of the work he did for this area, even through cancer. The current holder of that post is a waste of space (he wears a blue rosette) and I devoutly hope he is ousted next time around 🙂

        Right politics dealt with, get the needles out, you’ve a lot of knitting/crochet to catch up with 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

