Home » Baking » Quiche

Quiche

I have done quite a lot of knitting today but it’s too dark to take a good photo so that will have to wait ’til tomorrow morning. What I *have* done today is make quiche. My nephew and niece were appearing in their dance troupe’s performance this evening and beforehand a family party had been arranged to feed the various uncles, aunts and grandparents who were going to the show. The kids are the only children on both sides of the family so they get to share these occasions with quite a lot of us!

Mum and I had decided that with the weather we’d have salads and we’d make a couple of quiches. We chose two recipes online that were new to us and we had great fun this morning trying out the recipes, pre baking the pastry cases and making cheesy straws from the leftover pastry.

The first was St Delia’s classic Quiche Loraine from http://www.deliaonline.com
Uncooked:
image
Cooked:
image

The vegetarian quiche was a Leek, Mushroom and Gruyere quiche from http://www.bbcgoodfood.com
Uncooked:
image
Cooked:
image
Obviously as a vegetarian, this was the only one I tried, and it was DELICIOUS! If you like quiche, then I very much recommend this recipe.

We spent the entire morning telling Mollie and Lucy to ‘move… Move… MOVE…’
image
image
image

And the best bit of the day? My nephew, the only boy in an 80 strong cast, winning the prize for the best improvement in his class.

8 thoughts on “Quiche

  1. Delicious! I love anything that comes in a pastry case. Very jealous of those who got to eat them. I love baking but have stayed away from the oven of late 🙂

    Like

  2. yum, wish I was in your family! I’m glad the kids did well. Your nephew is a brave boy to be in that troupe. Until I got married, I had 1 nephew to go with the 5 nieces – he LOVED being the favorite nephew. Then I married a woman with 6 nephews and 2 nieces, and so things are now evenly balanced. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

