Home » Buildings » A pretty mellow birthday (yarn included)

A pretty mellow birthday (yarn included)

My day started with a conversation (admittedly one way) with the bunnies and feeding my super hungry Lab… The husband disappeared and reappeared with chocolate croissants and a bunch of flowers.
image
We duly had breakfast with our guests who had brought me a fabulous coffee table book about Heidelberg, which is a city I visited and loved. Damon gave me some presents: a keyboard & cover attachment for my iPad to make it more usable on train journeys, which is super useful; some earrings he bought me in Krakow (they’re ruby amber)
image
I really think he’s picked a lovely style; and a scarf with birds on that I’d admired and he remembered!
image

We were going out for the day with friends and family. Sam and Josh popped round early to give me this hand knitted by Sam beauty:
image
image
It has mohair in and is gloriously warm so I literally tried it on for five seconds! Roll on the cold weather!

We spent most of the day at Old Wardour Castle in Wiltshire. It’s one of my favourite places ever and I never get tired of visiting. It’s become a bit of a tradition to go there on my birthday. This is the castle:
image
image
image
image
It is a small castle, ruined in the Civil War. Afterwards another castle was built close by and this one now belongs to English Heritage. One of its claims to fame is it was one of the castles used in the film Robin Hood, Prince of Thieves!

And this is the Banqueting House:
image
And the Lake:
image
image

A beautiful if unknown bush… rose hip?
image

And of course Mollie came too. She likes going in the car:
image
image
image
She’s wearing a collar and lead set I bought from http://www.funkymutts.co.uk last year. And yes, that *is* a bow! She rolled in mud as soon as we got there so I have some cleaning of collars to do…

And she is incredibly greedy:
image
image
image
She was trying to will Josh’s sandwich into her mouth…

On the way home we stopped in a bead shop that has a very good yarn selection as a sideline. I discovered that they were closing their yarn section (😩) but as a result everything was 50% off! Sam and I were in heaven. I bought a LOT of Debbie Bliss Cashmerino in some lovely colours to make a blanket for my bed and 7 balls of Noro Silk Garden, two single balls because I liked the colour way and 5 the same for a fab shawl. I haven’t got the balls out to count them yet but there are over 30:
image
I did go mad and justified it because it was my birthday. I think I’d better not buy any yarn for a while! I have PLENTY. *embarrassed look*

I had a visit from my adorable godson this afternoon and then we all had dinner at Mum’s tonight. My family gave me some lovely and useful things for the house and at the end we had cake, decorated by my nephew and niece!
image
A very good day!

11 thoughts on “A pretty mellow birthday (yarn included)

  1. wow, that sounds like the perfect day! All your goodies seem perfect, and that yarn – wow! can’t wait to see what you make with it. See you at the CAL tomorrow!

    Like

  2. Glad you had such a wonderful day. The castle looks fab – we love going to castles and have promised the Mudlets a trip to another one at some point this summer, just not sure which one (sadly Wiltshire is a bit too far :)).

    Looking forward to seeing all that yarn transformed into your various projects. My yarn is in but I will not be picking it up until next weekend because I don’t have time to start knitting just yet – things will get neglected if I pick it up sooner 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

