Home » Crochet » Another Liebster Award for us!

Another Liebster Award for us!

I was chuffed back in May to be nominated for a Liebster award and I have been again by Love, Lucie!

Here’s my original post: https://mollieandclaire.wordpress.com/2013/05/23/liebster-award-for-mollie-and-claire/

 

Here are the rules for receiving this award:
1. Each person must post 11 things about themselves

2. Answer the questions that the tagger set for you plus create 11 questions for the people you’ve tagged to answer.

3. Choose 11 people and link them in your post. (I’ve found 9!)

4. Go to their page and tell them.

These are slightly different to the ones I used before which said the blogs nominated had to have less than 200 followers. 

 

So here goes with 11 FACTS ABOUT ME

  1. I am a feminist.  No I don’t push this here, but I am.  Sometimes I’m fierce too.
  2. I am a member of a political party and a councillor.
  3. I am a campaigner for assisted dying www.dignityindying.org.uk
  4. I am a strict vegetarian (no fish!),
  5. I am severely asthmatic
  6. And also quite unfit. 
  7. This is not helped by being overweight
  8. BUT! I have an appointment with Curves this afternoon to do something about the fitness!
  9. The children in my life are a 3 year old step grandson, an 11 year old nephew, an 8 year old niece and a 9 month old godson.
  10.  I’m not very good at relaxing and doing nothing.
  11. Mollie has a twitter account with 1621 followers… @mollie_the_lab

Questions from Love, Lucie:

1) Is your work/life/family/craft balance as you would wish it?

Yes, by and large.  I like the things I do that aren’t craft related and enjoy focusing on them.  I am pretty good at not allowing work and the other commitments I have to impinge on my time off.  In terms of family time, I certainly see my family as often as I want; seeing my husband is often more problematical!  I work Monday-Friday and he works nights Friday-Monday.  We try and spend time together during the week, but although this isn’t always possible, actually it works for us as I like my own space and so does he, plus we don’t always agree on the TV (on or off, and what programme)…  However holidays, where we spend time together, are special and important. 

2) What else are you passionate about that you don’t normally blog about?
Women’s rights, equality, fairness, local government.  All the stuff I do in my work time!

3) Do your friends read your blog or do you keep your personal friends separate from your blogging friends?
I haven’t really talked about my blog to friends as it hasn’t been relevant as I don’t talk about knitting and crochet to them!  My friend, who I talk knitting and all things yarn with, does, and the ladies in my LYS know about it, but generally they’re separate.

4) Why did you start your blog?
A challenge to myself.  I did a creative writing module for my degree and loved it and have always wanted to write creatively but never did.  I realised that this was because everything I did for my degree was structured – eg write a sonnet, write a 500 word autobiographical piece etc – and outside of that structure, when you can write whatever you like, there’s so much possibility you don’t do it.  So, my blog encourages me to write things down.

5) If you had to choose one craft and discard all others, which one would it be?
Knitting.

6) Do you buy books, magazines and patterns with regards to your craft or are you inspired just by what you come across on the net?
Both.  I have a magazine subscription to Let’s Knit, I often buy other magazines and I often have a look at Ravelry.

7) Have you started thinking about projects specifically for Christmas yet?
Yes!  Since May :@)

8) How many works in progress do you have on the go at the moment?
Ones that I haven’t designated as hibernating – 5; including ones that are hibernating, probably about 15!

9) What do the closest to you think about your craft?
My husband is a mixture of amused, baffled and proud that I can create things. He tolerates crafty stuff about the house but doesn’t want a jumper (which is ok cos I’ve never wanted to knit him one). My Mum is a knitter and we do talk about it a lot.  However she is much more restrained and tends to only have two WIPs and to buy yarn when she needs it. However she is also extremely slim so we can assume I haven’t inherited any of her natural self-control.

10) Has your craft been taught to you by a family member or are you self taught?
Knitting I was taught by my grandmothers; crochet was self taught; my Mum taught me to bake and cook.

11) What is the best and worst things about blogging for you?

There isn’t a worst really; the best is engaging with people from all over the world.

HERE ARE THE QUESTIONS FOR MY NOMINATED BLOGGERS
1. Have you made plans for Christmas yet?
2. If yes, when did you start?!
3. Do you have a pet?  If you do, why did you chose him/her?
4. What is your favourite city and why?
5. What is your favourite thing to eat?
6. What is your favourite place to craft?
7. Are you a careful and pristine crafter or do you eat biscuits and drink coffee [insert you prefered beverage and snack here] over your work? (anyone who reads my blog won’t have to wonder which category I fall into)
8. Do you use Ravelry? Which bits do you utilise?
9. How big is your stash?
10. Do you like everything in your stash? If not, why do you keep it?
11. If you could do anything right now, what would it be?

MY NOMINEES ARE:
One Hook to Rule Them All

Knits and Crafts of Derring-do

hannahackroyd

Kathryn Rubidoux

All Kinds Of Knitting

soknitsome

Funky Air Bear

knittingsarah

There are lots of other fab blogs I read but I’ve nominated them before!

4 thoughts on “Another Liebster Award for us!

  1. Really interesting to learn more about you. We only get to see the crafty side. Good to know someone with strong convictions is actually acting upon them. We need more like you.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Oh gosh, another award! | soknitsome

Leave a Reply

