Home » Crochet » Some thoughts on confidence

Some thoughts on confidence

Don’t worry, this is yarn related.

image
(I found this online, sorry, I don’t have a reference.)

A few times recently some lovely fellow bloggers have told me I’m clever in relation to something I’ve made. This is very kind of them and I totally accept their compliments. I’m not against compliments! And it is lovely to be told people appreciate what you’re making.

However the truth is though, I’m not especially clever at knitting or crochet. I’m reasonably good at knitting and competent at crochet. I can follow a pattern and I’m willing to try anything. But what I have in abundance, which I suspect is half the battle, is confidence.

It never occurs to me that I can’t do something, unless it becomes brutally plain through trial that I can’t… and with knitting and crochet I just keep doing it. I practice these crafts A LOT. I am also a world class bodger. I hardly ever rip stuff out and start again; I just fix problems.

My colleague once said something to me that I’ve never forgotten. She’s a really good knitter and she said ‘I never think my stuff is good enough to give to anyone as a present.’ I just looked at her. It had NEVER occurred to me to consider whether my creations were good enough! I just gave them to my family and expected them to like them because I’d made it. I’m fairly sure they do, but…

I think this post tells you an awful lot about me 😄

6 thoughts on “Some thoughts on confidence

  1. If your 8 year old niece is anything like my younger Mudlets then you would surely know if she didn’t like the things you made for her.

    In fact, thinking about it, unless your friends and family are all gold medalists at hiding their true feelings, I think you can safely assume that your home made gifts are genuinely loved, treasured and greatly appreciated – I really do think you would know if they weren’t. People get this look about them when they are trying not to hurt the feelings of a loved one …. 🙂

    Anyway, from what I’ve seen I think you have every right to have confidence in the items you make 🙂

    Like

  2. A great post. I completely get where you are coming from.
    I too think I’m very good at following a pattern or a recipe and feel a bit of a fraud when others say I’m very ‘creative’. I don’t design so I don’t class myself as creative. If more had a go they would see it’s not that difficult; or maybe that’s just easy for me to say……

    Like

  3. What Lucie said! I can follow instruction, I can even deviate a little, or see that if it works over here, it might work over there, but I have often thought that I have never had a creative, individual thought in my head, ever. But.. Others tell me that being able to follow the pattern is a skill, and if they think so, and that makes me something amazing in their eyes, I am all for it. 🙂 And Claire, you WOULD know if they didn’t like it. I once worked hard to make a pretty cardigan for a niece, then 4, to match an adorable dress I got her. She opened the box, tossed it on the floor and said “oh, clothes.” in disdain. I did not make her another thing until many years later when she asked me why I never made her anything. She promised me she would never do that again, and she hasn’t. Of course, as she is nearly 25, I would hope not!

    Like

Leave a Reply

