Home » Yarn » Gorgeous sparkly green…

Gorgeous sparkly green…

Look at this skein of gorgeousness.

20131116-095348.jpg

It’s Jillybean, which I discovered yesterday is made near where I live! I’ve admired it loads of times in my LYS and bought it a couple of times as gifts. But it happens I’ve never knitted with it myself. Anyway I happened to be in Marmalade Yarns yesterday when the owner received a sack of yarn to sell – and she invited me to have a look at it in her back room when she unpacked it. (Well paw it and squish it and oooh at it really!) There were some gorgeous sludgy autumnal colours and some with a sparkle in it. Apart from the gorgeous green there was a fabulous brown and grey skein. Sounds hideous but it was a brilliant neutral. I resisted but I couldn’t resist this. Look at the colours!

20131116-095500.jpg

20131116-095507.jpg
This is destined to be knitted into the Travelling Woman shawl for myself. Hopefully in time for my Australia trip 😄

Also as of this morning I haven’t technically broken my yarn buying ban as I haven’t actually paid for it…. Yet. But later, I will have. I don’t care.

23 thoughts on “Gorgeous sparkly green…

  1. Lol, it looks really vibrant, just the sort of colour to brighten gloomy winter days 🙂

    I have visions of your poor hubby, head in hands, with a resigned expression on his face because he knows that yarn shops draw you like a magnet and once inside ……. well it’s inevitable really isn’t it 😉

    Anyway, I’d blame the shop owner – allowing you to handle all those exciting new yarns. She knew what she was doing ….. a bit like putting a dieter in a room full of cream cakes and chocolate 😀

    Like

  2. The yarn looks familiar to me, I think I may have (virtually) drooled over it as well… 🙂
    It also reminds me of a Ring a Rosie skein in a post from some years ago.
    I can’t help it, if it’s green it’s going to get my immediate attention – and with stellina.. it’s just gorgeous!
    Funnily, despite having a lot of green yarn, I never knit anything with it.. perhaps I’m afraid of using it? 😉
    Great choice, I look forward to see your WIP!

    Like

  3. very nice! I love the sparkle. As for the ban, I have to pint out an obvious fact. You set the ban on yourself. You can break it at any time. It’s OK, just change the rules, you are the only one playing, no one will get mad. 🙂

    Like

      • So, it is working well for your storage, your pocketbook, your marriage… 🙂 I have been trying to be more careful, and not having as much luck as you are, but as we now approach the Christmas gift season, I have to choose yarn that really will be presents. 🙂

        Like

      • Well, er, I still have 6 plastic boxes of yarn so it’s not going down as fast as it might. And true, I haven’t spent money I might have. But as when I’ve really really wanted it I’ve bought it….. As far as D goes, I wish he were more interested in the yarn habit! But the sad truth is he really doesn’t care. He might if he were going without to fund my habit but the most I get is a jocular comment. Actually he’s really quite ambivalent about my knitting, which is annoying at times. He will say something is nice if I force him to admire it! I suppose the truth is we have enough income for him to have his TV package, his smart phone, various gadgets (I bought him an iPad with the wages I’m making from a new thing I’m elected to which made him VERY happy!) though I’m definitely more gadget minded than him, and our holidays…. and he’s happy that I do something that makes me happy. I imagine. 😄

        Like

      • Sounds like it works well for both of you. 🙂 I definitely spend money more times than does A, but when she does, it is on big things, as she is getting into wood working. So she might not buy anything for months, but then it is a $600 table saw or something. So mine is more obvious. 😦

        Like

      • If she wasn’t in charge of balancing the checkbook, it would work, but I get caught if I use the debit card. That’s why I save the odd bits of my weekly allotment until I have enough for yarn. 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

