Home » Uncategorized » Starting the owl blanket

Starting the owl blanket

20140427-211902.jpg

A while back I blogged about how I was going to make THIS blanket for my husband’s new granddaughter who is due to be born in June. Our daughter in law loves owls so I thought it would be very appropriate. Although I bought the yarn immediately, I’ve put off making it, ostensibly because the Australia trip was coming up and I had other thing on, but mostly because the pattern is a) written in US crochet terms and b) it’s quite complicated. The first I can cope with, though I find it confusing, the latter just requires concentration… With eight weeks until the baby is due I thought maybe I’d better get on with it!

20140427-212649.jpg

This was my first effort:

20140427-212720.jpg

And this the second:

20140427-212758.jpg

20140427-212803.jpg

I drank lots of peppermint tea…

20140427-212901.jpg

And Mollie kept my slippers warm!

20140427-212930.jpg

I’m going to have to focus on this… It’s a big project…

The only other thing I wanted to show you which I didn’t include in my last post was these:

20140427-213044.jpg My niece has asked for pompom makers, some wool and some sharp scissors for her birthday. These are the sharp scissors, which I bought today at the fair. I think they’re really pretty.

3 thoughts on “Starting the owl blanket

  1. I love the pattern! If you print out the pattern, you could write in the UK terms to make it easier. I can’t wait to see the finished blanket. You always pick such bright, happy colors!

    Like

Leave a Reply

