Home » Cooking » Cooking…

Cooking…

My nephew was recently awarded his First Dan in karate and to celebrate he wanted a family party. My Dad and stepmother have travelled up from Kent and I, foolishly, agreed to make two quiches (from scratch!) and a meringue based pudding. It’s taken me most of the day and the meringues are still in the oven but here is the goats cheese and summer vegetables (baby courgette, mangetout, peasand spring onions, with tomato on top) quiche:

20140705-152013-55213919.jpg

And the mushroom, leek & gruyere quiche:

20140705-152048-55248463.jpg

And the best bit! Summer berries in a creme de cassis syrup. I made the syrup with water, brown sugar and the creme de cassis. It tastes fab.

20140705-152243-55363127.jpg

Let’s just hope the meringues turn put ok. After all of this I am exhausted. Might have a snooze! πŸ˜‰

19 thoughts on “Cooking…

  1. Oh wow, those quiches look absolutely yummy, hope you all had a great celebration. I’m looking forward to having a look around your blog πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Looks delicious! Your nephew must be very proud of himself – First Dan gradings are hard! And scary! Well more scary when you are the only girl, you are 12 years old and the only people taking their gradings are three very tall big beefy men! Hahahaha!

    Like

      • I was successful! When I was learning it was very rare for kids to stick it out as long as I did to get a first Dan. About 6 years later the kind of karate I did introduced childrens Dan grades, which were a little easier, and once they hit 16 they could retake for adult Dan grades πŸ™‚

        Like

Leave a Reply

