Home » life » Remembering

Remembering

Tonight D, my Mum and I went to a church service commemorating the outbreak of World War One. D served 23 years in the army from the age of 17 so these events are very important to him. He proudly wore his medals.

It was very reflective and beautiful, with poems, music, images, prayers and hymns. Both D and I teared up a little during I Vow To Thee My Country.

20140804-211531-76531858.jpg

My Mum’s great-uncle Herbert was killed in the 1914-18 war and over the next four years she and I are hoping to discover the location of his grave and visit it or if it is not known to visit the Menin Gate.

Tonight the British Legion are organising a Lights Out event between 10-11pm, where you just leave a candle burning in the window and I will be taking part.

20140804-212322-77002660.jpg

2 thoughts on “Remembering

Leave a Reply

