Home » Crochet » The waistcoat starts to take shape!

The waistcoat starts to take shape!

Having been forcefully encouraged by The Twisted Yarn and A Nice Piece of Work to get on with the waistcoat, I sat down this evening and got stuck in… First I sewed up the last panels:

IMG_8719.JPG

IMG_8720.JPG

A quick look at the mess I have created this evening!

IMG_8725.JPG

A weird accidental selfie of my fingers!

IMG_8731.JPG

Adding the button band

IMG_8753.JPG

My varying emotions this evening……

IMG_8738.JPG

IMG_8747.JPG

IMG_8750.JPG

AND this is almost a ta-dah but not quite. Here is the item on its way to being finished as modelled by the man of the house. What do you think of the neckline? Do I have it right? I obviously still need to do the armholes, which will be about the same width as the button band and also the bottom hem, ditto. Plus D is about 4 inches smaller round the waist than Dad.

IMG_8754.JPG

IMG_8755.JPG

Please be honest, especially if you’re Janet!

And NOW I am going to bed.

15 thoughts on “The waistcoat starts to take shape!

  1. I like the colours of the waistcoat!They looks somewhat stonewashed…. simply beautiful…. and you were right about your nailpolish… it is the same as the yarn of the keyring! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Perfect !!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes that’s concerning me but I’m going to wait until I’ve put the armhole edges on. They’re going to be 5 rounds worth like the button bands and I wonder if they might provide that balance. I’ve put a slip stitch edging on all round that I can take off. Perhaps one single crochet (US terms) around the neck edge. I need to be careful that I don’t make it so its too close to his neck edge as he gets a bit itchy with wool next to the skin and he lives in Tshirts!

      Like

  2. I think it is looking fabulous! I love the colours of the yarn and I do like that edging too. I have a picture in my mind of your dad from a previous post and I’m pretty sure he is going to look so uber cool in this – he will just have to do a bit of swaggering! It’s a little bit retro, a little bit funky and a whole lot cool! And your nil polish looks great – I meant to say that last post and forgot!

    Like

  3. I’m not Janet but can I also be honest anyway? I think it is just stupendous – as you say, once you’ve done the armholes you’ll know more about the neckband’s sense of balance, but I don’t think you will need to change it. I’m particularly impressed with the way you’ve mirrored the colour squares on the fronts – now THAT takes planning. You should be super-proud of your skills πŸ™‚

    Like

    • It’s ok, I’m delighted to have feedback. Janet has been mentoring me through the construction of this item – hers is the recipe (I think it’s more of a recipe than a pattern) – and making suggestions for dealing with the more complicated bits. She said that she thought it was important to keep the fronts symmetrical. So of course I kept my favourite squares for the front which is why it is a little brighter than the back! I am very pleased with how it is coming together but it is quite hard work. Hope to add the armhole and bottom band tonight and maybe sew the ends in. The end IS nigh!

      Like

Leave a Reply

