Home » Dogs » To Farleigh Hungerford Castle & beyond

To Farleigh Hungerford Castle & beyond

This morning was beautiful in Somerset, the sun was shining and I had written on my list of jobs ‘take Mollie for a walk’ (I should say that this is not as strange as it might sound as I write everything I plan to do on a Saturday or Sunday down individually on a list – chores and nice things – as a) I like ticking things off lists and b) getting the boring things done first leaving the nice things on the list spurs me on…) I phoned my Mum and suggested we take a jaunt to Farleigh Hungerford Castle, which is a 20 minute drive away from us.  We’re both members of English Heritage who look after the building but I knew that Mum had never been.  And best of all, Mollie could go with us.  Lucy, Mum’s dog, was with the dog minder as Mum was out yesterday & last night and she hadn’t arrived back yet!

It’s a really interesting place – following are some of the photos I took – and there is a little bit of info here and an entire history here.





Mollie sitting by an old long drop latrine pit! 



If you look up in the South West tower you can see the remains of the spiral staircase – My phone was pointing upwards if the perspective is a bit weird! 



Looking across the site to surrounding countryside: 





The moat:



Mum & Mollie by The Lady Tower: 



Yes, it’s a mystery to me how I have a mother that is both very slim and blond.  I think the key might be that I’m the spitting image of my larger framed father….

We came home and I enjoyed working on a shawl I cast on last night.  I’d spent all week picking out three patterns to go with three skeins of yarn I want to use, but two balls of Noro have sent that haywire and I chose to knit it up using Martina Behm’s 22 Little Clouds.  

Last night…

This morning:

Earlier…

Right now: 



I may work on one of my other WIPs tomorrow, but then again I may not…



14 thoughts on “To Farleigh Hungerford Castle & beyond

  1. what a cool place to take Mom and Mollie for a walk. 🙂 the shawl is coming right along! It looks like it will be perfect as always – color and pattern play well together.

    Like

  2. Love English history and architecture and ruins – just such eye candy for me. What a wonderful way to spend a few hours and with Mollie too! I like the way the stripes are working out in your shawl. I want to make a shawl – I have one skein of very pretty yarn – but keeping tied up with which pattern to choose ….. any suggestions?

    Like

    • My favourite pattern EVER is this one but it is lace. http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/lace-leaf-shawl-2
      I have knitted it seven or maybe eight times. Possibly more. It’s addictive. It would suit a skein that is semi solid or gentle stripes. If you have a striped yarn I would choose a pattern that will show off the yarn. The one I’m knitting at the moment – 22 Little Clouds – I picked for that reason. I also like it because it is a much shallower triangle than traditional shawls. Are you on Ravelry? Shall we be friends on there? I’m clairefrome xx

      Liked by 1 person

      • That is a beautiful pattern – I have a striped yarn though – I also have plain yarns waiting so it is still a possibility. 🙂

        I didn’t know you could have friends on Ravelry! Duh! I’ll try and hunt you down. I’m contentedcrafter 🙂

        Like

  3. Claire you select the most beautiful yarns and the colorways always work up perfectly in your hands. The pictures of the grounds are wonderful. If we had ruins such as you have there I certainly would have become that archeologist I always wanted to be.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Lovely photos and your yarn is yummy. I have a ball of Taiyo I want to cast on for a TGV but I am trying hard to restrain myself right now as it would be good aeroplane knitting for late spring.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Another place that’s not too far away and yet I’ve never been. Will put it on my list for another sunny day. The boys love running around castle ruins – boy heaven!

    Like

Leave a Reply

