Home » life » I won!

I won!

Dear friends. This blog will return to knitting and crochet and yarn appreciation very soon, but I wanted to share with you something that is really important to me.  I was re-elected for my fourth term as a district councillor today alongside my husband Damon. I am very proud to represent my ward and my town.  Here I am making my acceptance speech:  

 

But it’s not easy to enjoy it.  As you will know if you live in the UK, my political party was wiped out last night.  We lost 49 seats and now have just 8 MPs. Although I won, we are also losing council seats across the country. Our party leader, who I admire very much, has resigned. Politics is a hard business.  

I knitted on this last night through my tears while the election coverage…

 

11 thoughts on “I won!

  1. I am so pleased for you that you were re-elected, but sorry to see the outcome of the elections! I don’t know much about UK politics any more – but I am aware there seems to be a global shift towards the far right in politics. I am wondering whether to adopt the ‘conspiracy theory’ mind set as I have never met anybody in this country who has ever voted for our government, yet they keep on getting in! And our PM is as big an embarrassment to us as GW Bush was to the US people I knew in his time. And that’s saying something!

    Like

  2. Congratulations on your re-election. That’s great news, I’m sorry to hear the direction things are going, and hope that’s not a sign of things to come over here. I’m passionate about my politics, but it’s not relaxing. Thank goodness for knitting. Sending you a virtual hug.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Try not to let the overall Lib Dem result tarnish your success Claire. The fact that you and D bucked yesterdays’ trend speaks volumes for the type of Councillors you are and the impact you have had on your constituents. That deserves to be celebrated and acknowledged.

    Well done both of you. Based on your results and the fact that in spite of the trend you both got re-elected, I would say that we’d all benefit from more politicians like you two, whatever party, if you can inspire that kind of loyalty 🙂 xx

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Congratulations that you both have been re elected. When I saw the national numbers I was concerned. But I know you are good people who work very hard for your district and that’s the political revolution that must take place, getting in people who are really people and who work for their voters. I am so happy for you. And at some point that political revolution of voting in good people who want to serve the best interests of their districts will come to pass. I am so happy for both of you and your district.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Congratulations. It just goes to show how much you are appreciated for your work and commitment so far. It is so good to be recognised for something albeit just once every few years. Hope you get to relax a little now before you take up your new post. X

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

