Home » Crochet » First week

First week

Well I survived! I loved my first week at my new job. I am half way through my induction, have lots of reading to do but I’m happy to learn, have been asked to do a specific training course next week, discovered I am entitled to and been given a parking permit (yay!) and starting learning my way round the building & equipment. But more than that, I really like all my new colleagues. My biggest fear when looking for a new job was that I wouldn’t like my colleagues. I appreciate its early days yet but I don’t think that’s going to be a problem. 

I’ve also been getting stuck into putting my granddaughter’s blanket together. This has been done on Cathedral  Green at lunchtime with a Costa or at home in the evenings when I’ve collapsed with exhaustion! 

   
      
Tonight I’ve travelled to Manchester for a meeting tomorrow and I’ve had a chance to lay it out on the white hotel bedding. Rubbish light but you can see how it’s coming together.  

 

11 thoughts on “First week

  1. Gorgeous blanket! I like how you are joining them; if I see it correctly, you do a row of granny stitch around one square, then as you do the same on the next, you work between the stitches of the first square’s edging. At least, that’s what it looks like to me. Love it! Much nicer looking than some of my past projects and I think I’ll use it on the granny square blanket I’m just beginning – it will be a while before I have enough pieces to join, though; they’re pretty eclectic in shape and design. It’s so encouraging to see your work. Thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Linne! Thank you! Yes I’m doing a final Granny row round each square – but there’s a chain one between each cluster. On the joining row than ch1 is substituted for a slip stitch into the corresponding ch1. Exactly as you guessed. I think eclectic is the best thing! X

      Like

  2. I am glad the week was so good – you are right, wondering about co-workers is much more stressful than wondering about the work itself. You can LEARN anything, but having good people around while you do it makes it much better. The blanket is looking good as well – don’t put that hook down, you are cutting it pretty close. 🙂

    Like

  3. Claire, I’m so very glad to here things are going so well for you with the new job!!! 😄 And the blanket is amazing! Love those colors!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

