Home » Beads » Summer Shawl Swap

Summer Shawl Swap

Over on Instagram I signed up to take part in a month long shawl swap. You knit your shawl and then send it on to the person you’ve been given to make for and someone else sends you one. Lovely idea. The only rules are 100g of 4ply is what must be used. And to send it off by 15 July.  You’re given a guide as to colours your swap buddy likes and having reviewed my extensive stash decided I didn’t have anything suitable. So I went to the Eden Cottage website (which I’ve been busting to buy from) and got this gorgeous stuff:  

 

It’s called Harvest Gold and is a warm shade of yellow/ mustard. I don’t generally go for warm colours (if you look at the colours I choose they’re the  cool versions) but I love this. This morning I would it up:  

 

And prepared myself to tackle my chosen pattern ‘Mustardseed’ by Boo Knits. It’s a gorgeous shawl and as I’m a big Shakespeare fan anything named after a character appeals to me!  It requires beading with a crochet hook which I haven’t done before and I’m excited to try. 

 

That hook with the mint coloured handle is a 1mm hook. It’s so skinny it come with its own cover! 

I started… 


And I started a second time only to discover a dropped stitch… 

 

So I started a third time and am now on row 9!  

 

Loving this so far 😊

10 thoughts on “Summer Shawl Swap

  1. Oooh. What a lovely shawl. I’m glad to know I’m not the only one who has to start things more than once before true take off.

    Like

  2. I love swaps. You get the best gifts and goodies. I have done a few sock swaps that I absolutely loved. Your buddy is extremely lucky. That is going to be a beautiful shawl.
    I will follow your progress with the beading with a hook. I have never done it before either. I put the beads onto the yarn before I start and then just slip a bead forward each time I knit the stitch where the bead must be. Would love to learn a new technique. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Interesting idea – haven’t done the instagram thing yet…
    I agree with you – not colors I would normally choose, but it is beautiful! Can’t wait to see it, or what you get. Fun way to ensure that you get a shawl to keep. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

