Home » Family & friends » Bedted’s poncho

Bedted’s poncho

This is Bedted. He’s my sister’s 40 year old childhood companion. And he’s wearing a handknit poncho courtesy of my Great Granny.  

 
My ten year old niece decided to bring him with her on a trip to Madeira as ‘he needs a holiday’….

My sister is mildly anxious about him (yes he might be wearing a dress but he’s definitely a boy) as he’s quite fragile. Incidentally my niece’s teddy Timmy is also a boy that wears a dress (or today a pink gilet, sparkly top and shorts). With impeccable logic my niece advised me that Timmy’s a tomgirl. And why not… 


Anyway back to Bedted. I’ve never had cause to examine Bedted’s poncho before now but it’s a really pretty stitch pattern. It was originally made for my Sindy doll in acrylic that’s gone fuzzy with age. Can anyone tell me what this stitch is?  

Y  

14 thoughts on “Bedted’s poncho

      • It doesn’t list a name for the stitch used, but when made up it looks very similar to your poncho, at least what I can tell from the photo. I can look in my Harmony Guide, though sometimes the names aren’t up to date as my book is kinda old.

        Like

  1. Oh how fun to still have childhood items! I still have my blankie, a green variegated acrylic rectangle that’s small like a book almost. I have it in a Chinese box and once in while I like to take it out and show my girls. It still has that comforting touch. My mum crocheted it when she saw my cousin dragging a big blanket around that dragged on the floor like Linus. She didn’t want me to do that while I had sucked my thumb.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It may be Cell Stitch, which my book gives as a 4 row pattern of 4 sts + 3. The other one I linked to is only a 2 row pattern.

    Like

Leave a Reply

