Home » Yarn » Bristol Wool Fair

Bristol Wool Fair

Last weekend my friend Sam and I headed off to Washingpool Farm in Easter Compton near Cribbs Causeway in Bristol for the Bristol Wool Fair. Three sheds of stalls – maybe 100 in total – plus alpacas, sheep, angora rabbits, a wide selection of workshops, sheepdog displays and most randomly a Viking battle reenactment. We went hardcore and stuck to the yarn with a crochet spirals workshop for good measure. 

We did it the right way, walked round and looked at everything before making our purchases. I had a budget and stuck to it! My favourite stand was Triskelion Yarnd from Wales. The colours the owner got into his yarns was incredible.  

 

I bought three skeins:

Gwyn 4 Ply  

  

Branwen 4ply:  

And Olwen lace: 

Squishing yarn:  
I also liked Fivemoons Yarns from Devon: 

   

Alpacas!  

 

New Forest Mohair (from their own goats!)   

 

The most glorious rainbow of colour: 

 

I loved these gloves from Native Yarns, and bought a kit 😊 

  

 

Lithuanian Linen from Midwinter Yarns: 

 
The crochet spiral I made in our workshop… 
  

 

My only impulse purchase (because it matched my top…)  

A brilliant day out.  

10 thoughts on “Bristol Wool Fair

  1. I absolutely adore this post. Getting to see your part of the world and the Wool Fair along with you. Thank you so much.
    You got stunning yarns, you have really good taste and always seem to get the sweetest colours.
    So glad it was such a super brilliant day out. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

