Home » Family & friends » Saturday meanderings

Saturday meanderings

You know when you have one of those days where you’ve done LOADS of things but don’t feel like you’ve actually got anything done? Well today I’ve hung out with friends, and family, been to a birthday lunch and done loads of jobs that needed doing but only a few rows of knitting… That might explain the feeling, I have after all been reasonably productive elsewhere. 

It all started this morning. I was a bit grumpy. I don’t like mornings, I’m hormonal and I was a bit huffy with D. I was moving money around bank accounts to pay for the three tyres and alternator our car has recently had. Yes it was expensive – four figures 😱 – but it’s covered. Think how much wool I could buy for that… Or frankly how many iPods to replaces ones that had been through a full 40C wash cycle in D’s work trousers. That was another part of the source of my huffiness. The clean but utterly defunct one was a Christmas present from me.

We’ve also had to buy a new microwave this week as ours broke (and it is important to have something that you can occasionally heat a ready meal up in – or it’s more usual use – soften a bit of butter in!) and I got D to put the old one in the car so I could take it to the dump. By 9.30am I was in the vet paying Mollie’s last bill, dropping off her insurance claim form and buying poo bags and tinned meat. As a vegetarian I hate the meat but Molls loves it and I’m going to keep her on it for a while. I then dumped the old microwave. With grateful thanks to one of the men working there who got it out of my car and threw it away for me. 

I then hightailed it down to my favourite and local yarn store Marmalade Yarns for what I expected to be a quiet chat with my friend Maxine, the co-owner, while she opened up for the day. No chance! She had a full session in for a crochet course and lots of people in and out of the shop buying things. At one point I even helped make the tea for the course as she was so busy! But we did get a chance to hang out a bit!  
    
 
I was VERY good. I just squished, even though I saw some Noro the exact match for my sofa; a clear teal blue, my favourite colour. 

However Maxine did enable me to buy a number of books. By enable, I mean, she showed them to me and I bought them! The ones for me are…

Ruby & Custard’s crochet by Millie Masterton, which looks really interesting and has some lovely projects: 

 
And believe is or not ‘Mandalas to crochet’ by Haafner Linssen. Yes, I know I violently object to the word mandala being used to describe what is actually a colourful doily, but I do quite like crocheting doilies. 

I’m thinking of making my sister a set of doily placemats… I also bought a copy for Sam for his birthday from Mollie; Mum and Gayle were presented after lunch with Woodland Knits and Knitted Safari. They were just too good to pass up and did make everyone happy. I did tell Gayle that I had added everything in both books to the list of things I don’t knit. Obviously. 

Back at Marmalade I had a chat with Maxine about the next Possiwools outing. The Possiwools are a group of ladies from all over the country who have met through Devon Sun Yarns Lyme Regis yarn retreats and IG; they were named by one members teenage son. It’s stuck. Anyway, our next outing is to Frome!

I had to leave at 11ish to pick up my nephew so he could do his jobs at our house. He normally comes on a Sunday after his karate class but tomorrow I will be on my way to watch my first match of the season at Yeovil Ladies FC…  It’s entirely my own fault. I told D on New Year’s Day I would like to attend a women’s football match this year. He can’t pass up a bargain (I know this so should be forewarned) and last weekend presented me with this.   

 Yes, it’s a season ticket. He has one too. Why go to one match when you can go to 10? All I’m saying is, he’d better buy me a scarf!

At 12.30 Alex and I went round to Mum’s for a celebratory lunch for our friend Sam’s birthday. There was an amazing butternut squash and ginger soup, bread, cheese and ultimately cake:  

 
We gave him some yarn bought at Stephen & Penelope in Amsterdam: Malabrigo Aroyo, and a Stephen West Askews Me Shawl pattern. The yarn we bought is what’s used in the sample so we know it will be ok!  

  
Later on I took Mollie for a walk and found Gayle and my nephew & niece in my house when I got back. I hadn’t seen her for oh 3 hours so it was nice to chat. 

I’ve worked on my lace shawl this evening on and off.  

 
And Mollie has been cute.  

 Yes, she is much better on the tablets. 

Hopefully tomorrow will be fun. Til then xx

8 thoughts on “Saturday meanderings

  1. Wow! Sounds like a full, and fun day. Love the Mandala book. I think you were very good at the yarn store. I don’t have yarn stores near me, so I would have been very, very bad. I like the sparklers on the cake idea. So festive. The Skipper’s B’day is coming up and I might try to track some down if they haven’t outlawed them here. And beautiful Mollie looks like she’s on the mend and happy to be so. Hugs and Kisses from across the Atlantic Mollie, my sweetheart. And for you to Claire.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Just reading that made me tired! Yesterday I did the ironing and two loads of laundry. I didn’t leave the house once and spent most of the day sitting on my behind in front of the telly! Though I did a lot of knitting so I feel pretty good about it 🙂

    Like

  3. What a lovely account of a busy, fun-filled day! I really do love the look of Marmalade Yarns and the books sound like a great alternative during your yarn buying ban. Seems like you’re a good friend to have at birthday times!! I feel your annoyance over the car bills – essential yet such a waste of money at the same time, especially when there’s yarn to be bought:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

