Home » Garden » Slowly the garden develops

Slowly the garden develops

I’m finding that I do actually enjoy the time I spend in the garden. Small steps! I’ve got my flower beds how I want them (for now), my sunflowers are all growing and I’ve started planting things along the big wall that until now has been bare. I have lots and lots of plans for future planting, but for now I’m focussing on grass and acquiring a rhubarb plant.

As you can see our grass is patchy. It was weed and moss  infested but that’s now been killed off. Our garden is on clay, with rubble underneath that from cottages that were demolished when our estate was built we think (we’re on the edge in the old show home – hah!). It isn’t flat, and the turf we had laid four years ago just hasn’t lasted. My aim with gardening is to reduce the grass significantly with nice planting. 

As you can see our wall is cracked, badly built and looks like it could fall down at any minute.  It would fall outwards luckily! But this means we have to be careful what we put up against it. I’m enjoying thinking it through. 😊

2 thoughts on “Slowly the garden develops

  1. I can’t wait to see the pictures of your garden in full summer glory. It’s going to be absolutely stunning. Slugs have done for quite a few bits and bobs in ours recently but last years Sweet Williams are putting on an impressive show 🙂 x

    Like

Leave a Reply

